--- title: "Deactivating and reactivating Expenses users" slug: "deactivating-users" updated: 2026-08-19T13:33:49Z published: 2026-08-19T13:33:49Z canonical: "help.cintra.co.uk/deactivating-users" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.cintra.co.uk/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deactivating and reactivating Expenses users You can deactivate a user to prevent them from accessing Expenses - without having to delete their account. ### Deactivating a user 1. Go to **Setup > People**. 2. Locate the user and o their name. An **Options** panel appears on the right. 3. Click **Edit**. The **User Account** window opens. 4. Clear the **Active** checkbox. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/fc2cda72-4645-4b36-96bf-60439ec11f11/Images/Documentation/image(450).png) ![](https://cdn.document360.io/fc2cda72-4645-4b36-96bf-60439ec11f11/Images/Documentation/image-94Y2MJ7N.png) 1. Click **Save**. ### Reactivating a user Follow the steps above, select the **Active** checkbox, then click **Save**.